BBC to broadcast Queen’s Club Championships until 2024


The BBC will continue to broadcast the AEGON Championships at The Queen’s Club until 2024.

In an extension to the partnership which began in 1979, the new deal sees the tournament remaining free-to-air for tennis fans for a further seven years, and further strengthens the domestic presence of the grass court season in the build-up to The Championships, Wimbledon.

Last year, 3.7 million people watched Andy Murray defeat Milos Raonic in the final on BBC TV, with many more listening on Radio 5 Live and following online on the BBC Sport website.

The news of the new deal comes as world number one Andy Murray commits to competing at Queen’s for the duration of his career.

Murray was crowned BBC Sports Personality of the Year for an incredible third time last month.

In what was an outstanding 2016, he also won a record fifth Queen’s title, his second Wimbledon singles title and finished the year as world number one. Murray told the BBC: 

“I’ve always loved playing the event and I’m really happy to know that I will play at Queen’s for as long as my career lasts.

“My first ATP World Tour match-win came at Queen’s in 2005, so for it to become by far the most successful tournament of my career is a great feeling. Looking at the names that have won the tournament four times – some of the best players ever – winning it five times means a lot to me.”

Commenting on the BBC’s rights extension for the Queen’s Club tournament, Barbara Slater, Director of BBC Sport, said:

“The AEGON Championships at The Queen’s Club is one of the most cherished events in the tennis calendar and it’s great that the BBC will continue to bring it to audiences across all platforms until 2024.

“With a British tennis player as the current World No. 1 there’s no better time for us to reinforce our commitment to the sport.”

Stephen Farrow, AEGON Championships Tournament Director, added:

“To know that Andy will play at The Queen’s Club for the rest of his career and that the BBC will cover it every step of the way is a huge boost in what is an exciting and important year for the Aegon Championships with our stadium capacity increasing by 30%.

“Last year, we celebrated our four-time winners Roy Emerson, John McEnroe, Boris Becker and Lleyton Hewitt. This year, and for many years to come, Andy will return as our greatest champion in front of more people than ever before, covered live on television, radio and online by the BBC. We couldn’t be happier.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *