DARTS: William Hill Grand Slam of Darts 2011 – Live on Sky Sports


The world’s greatest players from both sides of the darting divide collide in Wolverhampton for nine days of breathtaking drama and nail biting tension – in the fifth edition of the Grand Slam of Darts – live on Sky Sports.

Elite competitors from the British Darts Organisation (BDO) and the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC), including three-time Grand Slam winner Phil Taylor, reigning champion Scott Waites and current PDC World Champion Adrian Lewis, will go head-to-head for the title.

Regarded as one of the toughest tournaments on the PDC circuit, 32-players are divided into eight four-man groups, before the top two in each proceed to the knockout stages.

The Grand Slam culminates on Sunday November 20, with the semi-finals and final played across two sessions as players battle for the £100,000 first prize.

Every dart thrown on the Wolverhampton Civic Hall stage will be broadcast live, and in high definition, on Sky Sports.

“This tournament brings together the greatest players in darts, who have qualified by virtue of their achievements in major tournaments over a two-year period,” said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

“Over the past four years it become one of the biggest tournaments in the sport alongside the World Championship and the Premier League.

“Sky Sports has continued to lead the way in the broadcasting of professional darts in recent years. They have made a huge commitment to the Grand Slam and we look forward to continuing to establish this tournament as one of the year’s biggest events.”

The William Hill Grand Slam of Darts will be the best-supported since the tournament was introduced in 2007. More tickets have been sold for the 2011 tournament than in the whole of last year’s event.

Qualifiers also include Premier League champion Gary Anderson, UK Open winner James Wade, World Grand Prix finalist Brendan Dolan and former World Champions Raymond van Barneveld, John Part, Mark Webster and Steve Beaton.

The BDO’s representatives include two-time World Champion Ted Hankey, Tony O’Shea, Jan Dekker and 2011 World finalist Dean Winstanley. Martin Adams, the current BDO World Champion, refused to enter the tournament for the fifth successive year.

Sky Sports will be broadcasting the event for the first time in 2011, after claiming the rights to screen every Grand Slam until 2013 earlier this year.

ITV previously aired the tournament from its inception in 2007, but will continue to screen PDC darts in the form of the Players Championship in December.

BSkyB hold the rights to all the major televised PDC events in their portfolio, including the Ladbrokes.com World Championship, World Matchplay and the Premier League.

William Hill Grand Slam of Darts 2011 – Groups:

Group A
Scott Waites (BDO) – 2010 champion
Mark Walsh (PDC)
Tony O’Shea (BDO)
Michael van Gerwen (PDC)
Group B
Raymond van Barneveld (PDC)
Dean Winstanley (BDO)
Ted Hankey (BDO)
Ian White (PDC)
Group C
Gary Anderson (PDC)
Wayne Jones (PDC)
Brendan Dolan (PDC)
Nigel Heydon (PDC)
Group D
James Wade (PDC)
Terry Jenkins (PDC)
Justin Pipe (PDC)
Dave Chisnall (PDC)
Group E
Phil Taylor (PDC) – 2007, ’08, ’09 champion
Mervyn King (PDC)
Steve Beaton (PDC)
James Hubbard (PDC)
Group F
Wes Newton (PDC)
Paul Nicholson (PDC)
Barrie Bates (PDC)
Magnus Caris (PDC)
Group G
Mark Webster (PDC)
Jan Dekker (BDO)
John Part (PDC)
Arron Monk (PDC)
Group H
Adrian Lewis (PDC)
Vincent van der Voort (PDC)
Co Stompe (PDC)
Martin Phillips (BDO)
TV Schedule:
Day 1 (Saturday 12th November)
Wayne Jones 5-2 Brendan Dolan – Grp C
Mark Walsh 5-2 Tony O’Shea – Grp A
Dean Winstanley 5-0 Ted Hankey – Grp B
Raymond van Barneveld 4-5 Ian White – Grp B
James Wade 5-4 Dave Chisnall – Grp D
Scott Waites 3-5 Michael van Gerwen – Grp A
Gary Anderson 3-5 Nigel Heydon – Grp C
Terry Jenkins 1-5 Justin Pipe – Grp D
8am-12midnightSky Sports 1
Day 2 (Sunday 13th November)
Afternoon Session
Paul Nicholson 5-0 Barrie Bates – Grp F
Wes Newton 5-2 Magnus Caris – Grp F
Mark Webster 5-4 Arron Monk – Grp G
Vincent van der Voort 3-5 Co Stompe – Grp H
Mervyn King 3-5 Steve Beaton – Grp E
Phil Taylor 5-1 James Hubbard – Grp E
Adrian Lewis 5-4 Martin Phillips – Grp H
Jan Dekker 2-5 John Part – Grp G
2pm-6pm – Sky Sports 2
Evening Session
Terry Jenkins 5-3 Dave Chisnall – Grp D
Gary Anderson 5-1 Brendan Dolan – Grp C
Scott Waites 4-5 Tony O’Shea – Grp A
Dean Winstanley 5-4 Ian White – Grp B
Raymond van Barneveld 2-5 Ted Hankey – Grp B
James Wade 5-4 Justin Pipe – Grp D
Wayne Jones 5-3 Nigel Heydon – Grp C
Mark Walsh 5-3 Michael van Gerwen – Grp A
8pm-12midnightSky Sports 1
Day 3 (Monday 14th November)
Barrie Bates 1-5 Magnus Caris – Grp F
Mervyn King 5-3 James Hubbard – Grp E
Jan Dekker 5-1 Arron Monk – Grp G
Vincent van der Voort 2-5 Martin Phillips – Grp H
Mark Webster 5-1 John Part – Grp G
Phil Taylor 5-3 Steve Beaton – Grp E
Wes Newton 4-5 Paul Nicholson – Grp F
Adrian Lewis 5-1 Co Stompe – Grp H
7.30pm-11pmSky Sports 1
Day 4 (Tuesday 15th November)
Raymond van Barneveld 2-5 Dean Winstanley – Grp B
Scott Waites 5-2 Mark Walsh – Grp A
Brendan Dolan 5-3 Nigel Heydon – Grp C
Justin Pipe 4-5 Dave Chisnall – Grp D
Tony O’Shea 2-5 Michael van Gerwen – Grp A
James Wade 5-3 Terry Jenkins – Grp D
Ted Hankey 5-2 Ian White- Grp B
Gary Anderson 5-1 Wayne Jones – Grp C
7pm-11pmSky Sports 2
Day 5 (Wednesday 16th November)
Adrian Lewis 5-2 Vincent van der Voort – Grp H
Wes Newton 5-1 Barrie Bates – Grp F
Steve Beaton 5-2 James Hubbard – Grp E
John Part 5-3 Arron Monk – Grp G
Co Stompe 2-5 Martin Phillips – Grp H
Phil Taylor 5-3 Mervyn King – Grp E
Mark Webster 5-3 Jan Dekker – Grp G
Paul Nicholson 5-4 Magnus Caris – Grp F
7pm-11pmSky Sports 1
Day 6 (Thursday 17th November)
Second Round
Dean Winstanley 9-10 Mark Walsh
Michael van Gerwen 9-10 Ted Hankey
Gary Anderson 10-3 James Wade
Terry Jenkins 10-8 Wayne Jones
7pm-11pmSky Sports 1
Day 7 (Friday 18th November)
Second Round
Paul Nicholson 10-8 Steve Beaton
Mark Webster 10-8 Martin Phillips
Phil Taylor 10-3 Wes Newton
Adrian Lewis 10-8 John Part
7pm-11pmSky Sports 1
Day 8 (Saturday 19th November)
Quarter Finals
Afternoon Session
Ted Hankey 14-16 Mark Walsh
Gary Anderson 16-12 Terry Jenkins
2pm-6pm Sky Sports 3
Evening Session
Mark Webster 5-16 Adrian Lewis
Phil Taylor 16-7 Paul Nicholson
7pm-11pmSky Sports 3
Day 9 (Sunday 20th November)
Semi Finals
Afternoon Session
Phil Taylor 16-9 Adrian Lewis
Mark Walsh 11-16 Gary Anderson
2.30pm-6pmSky Sports 2
Evening Session
Gary Anderson 4-16 Phil Taylor
8pm-10pmSky Sports 2


Group stage – Best of 9 legs
Round 2 – Best of 19 legs
Quarter Finals – Best of 31 legs
Semi Finals – Best of 31 legs
Final – Best of 31 legs
Classic Grand Slam of Darts Moments:
2007 – Semi Final – Phil Taylor v Gary Anderson
An epic encounter between the respective PDC and BDO number 1’s
2008 – Round 2 – Gary Anderson v James Wade
The Machine hits the first nine-darter at the Slam
2008 – Quarter Final – Raymond van Barneveld v Terry Jenkins
Barney misses winning doubles in final leg decider
2009 – Group Stage – Ted Hankey v Scott Waites
The Count loses his cool with the boisterous PDC crowds
2009 – Group Stage – Vincent van der Voort v Anastasia Dobromyslova
Russian becomes first woman to beat a man in a major televised event
2010 – Group Stage – Phil Taylor v Ted Hankey
A gripping match between the PDC and BDO heavyweights
2010 – Quarter Final – Phil Taylor v Steve Beaton
The Adonis fights back from 14-11 down to sensationally beat The Power
2010 – Final – James Wade v Scott Waites
A darts match of two halves – Waites takes title, coming back from 8-0 down
All pictures courtesy of ITV Sport

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *